BJP wins bypolls 3-1 but Parrikar’s Fort CAPTURED by Cong

BJP wins bypolls 3-1 but Parrikar’s Fort CAPTURED by Cong

Truly against the run of play…The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) swept the bypolls in four constituencies with a 3-1 scoreline but importantly failed to win in the BJP stronghold of Panjim for 25 years.

Since 1994, Panjim was with BJP and more particularly with former chief minister Manohar Parrikar.

The first bad news came for BJP with Siddharth Kunkoliencar going down to the fighting to Congress’ Babush Monseratte by 1758 votes.

BAbush polled 8748 votes while Siddharth managed just 6990, GSM’s Subash Velingkar could manage just 516 votes. Valmiki Naik of AAP bagged 436 and NOTA polled 202 and Dilip Ghadi 13 and Vijay More 13.

Thereafter the first good news came for BJP from Shiroda when the turncoat and BJP candidate Subash Shirodkar won by a slender margin of 66 votes.

His opponent Deepak Dhavalikar asked for re-counting but to no avail.

BJP’s Shirodkar (10661), MGP’s Dhavalikar (10585), Mahadev Naik (2402), AAP’s Khandeparkar (231).

In Mapusa, Joshua will continue his father Francis D’Souza’s legacy defeating his rival and INC candidate Sudhir Kandolkar by 1113 votes.

Joshua polled 11098 voted and Sudhir managed 9985 votes. NCP’s Sanjay Barde bagged 200 votes. NOTA got 280 votes. Narsinha Sawant of GSM bagged 277.  Shekhar Naik (242), Ashish Shirodkar (500), Sudesh Hasotikar (42).

Similarly in Mandrem, another turncoat Dayanand Sopte defeated independent candidate Jit Arolkar by 3943 votes.

Sopte polled 13168 votes as against Jit’s 9225. Congress Babi Bagkar bagged 4221 votes and GSMs Swarup Jaidev Naik polled 615 votes. 444 voters opted for NOTA.


Suraj Nandrekar

Sr Assistant Editor (Reporting),

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply